## **Kiwanis Club of Harker Heights Board Meeting**

The board of directors of the Kiwanis Club of Harker Heights met at St Paul Chong Hasang Catholic Church in Harker Heights on <u>September 8, 2015.</u>

The meeting was called to order by: Pete Laessig The following board members were present: Pete Laessig, Charles Sweeney, Jeanette McNiesh, Vivian Marschik, James Hoyle, Jos Portmann, Diane Thompson, Esabell Zellmar Others present: Bill Griffith and Darrel Charlton **Approval of the minutes of the previous meeting**: The minutes were read by: Vivian Marschik Diane Thompson made a motion to approve the minutes as read. Charles Sweeney 2<sup>nd</sup> the motion. Voted on and approved. Review of monthly Report \_\_\_\_\_ Correspondence: **Treasurer's Report** was made by: Not presented today, Randy Stone is absent \_\_\_\_\_made a motion to approve the report as read \_\_\_\_\_\_2<sup>nd</sup> the motion Voted on and approved/not approved. Discussions held: Report of Standing & Special Committees: **Unfinished business:** Final selection of 2015-16 officers: Jeanette McNiesh will be the President – Elect and Bill Griffith will be the Vice President. Diane Thompson's board seat is open as she has served 3 years. Jody Nicholas had been asked if she would serve on the board and she had previously agreed. Charles Sweeney asked if another board spot could be added. He would like to see Darrel Charlton added to the board. We can vote on this next week. New business: An application for membership was received from Michael Clegghorn. Pete will bring it next week for a vote. Patty Brunson sent information for purchase of a projector and screen for speaker presentations. Esabell Zellmar made a motion to approve up to \$450.00 Charles Sweeney 2<sup>nd</sup> the motion. Voted on and approved. Vivian Marschik asked for approval of \$150.00 to register the Builders Club for this year. James Hoyle made the motion to approve it, Diane Thompson 2<sup>nd</sup> it. It was voted on and approved. It is time for nominations for our Kiwanian of the Year. Vivian Marschik nominated Norm Dunbar. Esabell Zellmar and Darrel Charlton would like Patty Brunson also nominated. We will vote on it next week at the short board meeting. Jos Portmann suggested the Key club teacher be invited to the banquet. We can also invited the Builders Club teacher. Charles Sweeney suggested inviting Mari Meyer, Jeannie Davis, Mollye Boyer & Alice Kolin. Darrel Charlton suggested talking to Lisa Youngblood about maybe donating books to kids who participate in the summer reading program and sponsoring another adaptive sports team such as soccor. Club Evaluation:

**Adjournment**: Esabell Zellmar made the motion Jeanette McNiesh 2<sup>nd</sup>. Meeting adjourned

Division Business:

Interrnational Business: